Annual Rosemary Brown Memorial Conference – Sexual Assault: Support, Prevention, Education

a186871k-v6On September 10th, 2016, UNA-Vancouver, the SFU Department of Gender, Sexuality, and Women’s Studies, and the Rosemary Brown Award for Women Committee will host the 3rd Annual Rosemary Brown Memorial Conference at SFU Harbour Centre. This year’s theme is Dialogue on Campus – Sexual Assault: Support, Prevention, Education.

This free half-day conference will feature speakers from SFU and the Vancouver community in order to foster a much-needed discussion about sexual assault both on university campuses and in the broader urban context.  Speakers include:

  • Kaayla Ashlie, SFU Alumni working towards a campus-based Sexual Assault Support and Prevention Centre
  • Sheryl Thompson & Treena Chambers, SFUA students representing Aboriginal perspectives and concerns
  • Rebecca Longmead & Lisa Ogilvie, SFU Health and Counselling
  • Arian Barer, Women Against Violence Against Women
  • Stacey Forrester, Hollaback! Vancouver
  • Julie Glazier, SFU Security and Police Liasison
  • Wendy van Tongerin, former BC crown prosecutor
  • Tracey Porteous & Kate Rossiter, Ending Violence Association of BC

The Annual Rosemary Brown Award for Women will also be awarded to Dawn Black, former Assistant Deputy Speaker of BC Legislation, during the conference. Black was successful in establishing December 6th as a National Remembrance Day and Action Against Violence Against Women in Canada following the massacre of fourteen women students in a Montreal campus for simply being Engineering students.

The Rosemary Brown Award for women recognizes a BC woman or BC based organization that promotes the values and ideals Brown championed during her life. These values and ideals are reflected by demonstrating exceptional qualities or achievements in one of the selected areas: children’s rights, women in the labour movement, women’s equality issues, human rights, political activism, women in politics, social justice, community development and/or international development.

Welcome remarks start at 9am in room 1700 at Harbour Centre.